Wednesday, December 7, 2016  
Account Login  

  need help?  
Breaking News Alerts
Email Alerts
Email Address
Text Alerts
Mobile Number
 )  - 
Mobile Provider
standard messaging rates apply

Meade County’s Roads Scholars honored

Photos courtesy of Kentucky Department of Highways
(left) Gene Smallwood, William Marsh and William Biddle were awarded Roads Scholar designations during a Dec. 7 luncheon. (right) Timothy Embry was awarded the Roads Scholar designation during a Dec. 7 luncheon.

FALLS OF ROUGH – During a luncheon Dec. 7 at Rough River Dam State Resort Park, 48 men and women were presented with awards commemorating their classroom achievements for the Roads Scholar and Road Master programs.

Four individuals from Meade County earned the designation of Roads Scholar from the Kentucky Transportation Center at the University of Kentucky.

Timothy Embry, equipment operator II, works for the Kentucky Department of Highways District 4. The other three work for the Meade County Road Department. They are Gene Smallwood, truck driver; William Marsh, operator; and William Biddle, truck driver.

To obtain the Roads Scholar designation, an individual must successfully complete a training course presented by the center in cooperation with the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet. The program consists of a series of management and operations training courses designed to provide the basic knowledge necessary to manage a roads program. The training program, which began in 1988, has produced over 1,150 Roads Scholars.

The Road Master designation is earned by successfully completing an additional training program that provides a higher level of technical information and is targeted toward those individuals who want to become managers. There are currently over 700 local and state governmental employees who have earned the Road Masters designation.

Search By Keyword
Current Conditions
Brandenburg, KY
Radar & More >>
click ad below for details
  • Show Ads